Wednesday, October 31, 2012

AccuRadio Song Of The Day-Con Funk Shun

Artist:Con Funk Shun
Song:Got To Be Enough
Album:The Best of Con Funk Shun

Con Funk Shun were one of the top funk groups of the late 70s and early 80s. They had several top ten R & B hits including Got To Be Enough in 1980. The group was formed in the late 60s in Vallejo, CA by lead singer and guitarist Michael Cooper and drummer Louis McCall. Other members were Cedric Martin on bass, Danny "Sweet Man" Thomas on keyboards, Karl Fuller on trumpet and Paul "Maceo" Harrell on sax. Felton Pilate joined soon after when his previous band split up. He played keyboards, guitar and horns. Cooper and Pilate wrote most of the songs and shared lead vocals. At first they were called Project Soul. They backed up The Soul Children and moved to Memphis to work as Stax studio musicians. When they moved to the Audio Dimensions recording studio, studio owner Ted Sturges renamed them Con Funk Shun and became their producer. Con Funk Shun signed with Mercury Records in 1976 and and had a total of four top ten R & B hits. Ffun was their only #1 R & B hit in 1978. Got To Be Enough reached #8 in 1980. This 1993 comp has all their hits. Felton Pilate left Con Funk Shun in 1986 and went on to produce MC Hammer. The group attempted to continue but split up when Michael Cooper left to go solo. He had a big hit with To Prove My Love in 1988. Louis McCall went to work with Pilate. He was murdered in a 1997 home invasion. Con Funk Shun reformed in the 90s and a version of the band still tours today. Here's Con Funk Shun performing Got To Be Enough on Soul Train 1980.

No comments:

Post a Comment